HTML Identities

I have been thinking to write a piece on identity in my blog for quite a while now. I also have been thinking about my own identity how to define this; I finally came to the point that perhaps I should be talking about identities or identifications rather than identity. In this sense identity should then refer to a constant stage of formations that encapsulates different processes of identification.

I struggle myself with my personal identities at the different levels, again identity sounds too over simplistic even if this one is in constant transformation. I juggle two main identities on my every day life; the one who speaks English and lives in London and the one who speaks Spanish and likes to thinks he maintains a Uruguayan identity whatever that means. A third one more complex and multidimensional is one I have created over the thousands of hours I spend online both interacting in English and Spanish in different spaces.

In this regard, the use of technology has allowed me to contract a performance that reflects new identities (Thomas, 2004). Then audiences determine the construction of those identities that I project my persona — the processes of identification in my blog are quite different than my Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Gmail or Skype. The construction of a narrative of the self becomes a practice in relation and recognitions in direct contact with the audiences (Hine, 2000). As Buckingham states identity implies a relationship with broader world, defining our identity is an individual process but it only exists if recognized and confirm by others. Both Giddens and Bauman recognize the complexity of self-identification in modern cultures as an ongoing fluid process, a self-reflexive project that explains themselves to themselves.

As for my blog I have just been letting a few days pass to re-post a quite interesting story I witnessed in my Facebook feed. I found two interesting elements in this Facebook story, one it reflects how identity is a constant process of interaction with others and two, the risks of which involves producing those identities online. I came to the conclusion I am not even going to ask the person for permission to post that story in my blog. I know I perhaps should, but I want to come across of the dangers and risk of online identities and show in fact how identification is a social process. I will be constructing and reflecting on my identity in my blog with someone else’s story, which I believe it is party mine since it was on my feeds.

As for me, I would quote Tapscott where using technology is a natural as breathing. Yet I don’t want to fall in the technological determinism of conceiving the idea of technology as an autonomous force independent of human society (Buckingham, 2008). The ongoing processes of identifications take place in all dimensions of our lives yet we are defined not only by our practices but social perception.

2 Responses

  1. Interesting post.
    A lot of my thinking about Digital Identity ends up as as practical and scattered with examples.
    You may be interested in the work we did as part of the This is Me project http://learningexchange.westminster.ac.uk/index.php/lej/article/view/17
    or our workbooks at: http://stores.lulu.com/odinlab

  2. Very interesting again Mauro and I responded in the forum:
    “Yes Mauro
    I think you are right to resist the drift towards determinism which lies firther down that road. But I would agrue that the spaces you have inhabited in which your identity has normed and formed interpersonally has a corollary in your online life. Those spaces too have a feel of a country and a language to them with their own rules and reactions. If you audit all the places you are online and rate the agency you have in each of them it gets quite interesting (and alarming at the same time).
    Thanks for a thoughtful post.”

Leave a Reply

